To the sky (2017)

‘To the Sky’ is Naomi Berrill’ second album

This second project consists of 10 original compositions by Naomi and is a collaboration with the prestigious publishing company Sonzogno from Milan.

‘To The Sky’ is the second step in Naomi’s ‘Elements’ project. Here the focus and inspiration for the music is Water.
Stories of seamen, lighthouse keepers and far away lands are woven among her ethereal vocals, subtle harmonies and acoustic imagery. Underlying all is a subtle environmental message with hope for the future.
Naomi’s work had been influenced by the musical atmosphere she grew up in, the various places she has lived and studied, (from Glasgow to Basel) and her work in classical, folk and jazz styles.

Using cello as an accompaniment to her voice she has developed instrumental techniques which are unique to her compositional style and originate from various musical genres.
Alongside Naomi’s voice and cello, we hear her guitar and concertina playing and on various tracks she has collaborated with fellow musicians: Simone Graziano on piano, and her brothers Matthew on clarinet and Peter on trumpet.

In the run up to the launch of this album Naomi has released a series of videos (HandMadeMusic) which feature live performances of selected new works in various artisan workshops in Florence. These videos combine Naomi’s compositional craft with local Tuscan skills.



To the Sky

1 Lady Lighthouse (video)
2 Sparkling Sea
3 Journey
4 Evaporate
5 Lullaby
6 Little Leaf
7 Still Life Snow
8 With the Wind
9 Ogni Cosa
10 Northern Shorelines

Naomi Berrill: Cello, Voice, Guitar and Concertina
Matthew Berrill: Clarinet (track 2,6 and 8)
Peter Berrill: Trumpet (track 4 and 7)
Simone Graziano: Piano (track 4 and 7)
Pictures by Edoardo De Lille